Skip to content

Red Hot Chili Peppers: their trajectory told in a graphic time line

In this infographic we can see the trajectory of Red Hot Chili Peppers, who started as an underground band but then became one of the most popular acts in alternative rock:

You can download the complete Red Hot Chili Peppers time line clicking on the image below:

Red hot chili peppers historia linea de tiempo

In the mid-eighties the newly formed Red Hot Chili Peppers were a handleless ball: with somewhat sloppy styling and aesthetics, some difficulties in stabilizing their formation,and without much impact on the press and fans. But everything changed in the early nineties.

With albums like Blood Sugar Sex Magik (1991) and Californication (1999) they became mainstream acts. RHCP have recently released album no. 12, Unlimited Love.

History: Red Hot Chili Peppers and their guitar players

To put together a this graphic trajectory, we first list the Red Hot Chili Peppers albums according to the guitarist who recorded on each LP. John Frusciante recorded six albums with the Peppers. Josh Klinghoffer two, Hillel Slovak two. Jack Sherman one and Dave Navarro one. The list:

  • Red Hot Chili Peppers (1984: Jack Sherman)
  • Freaky Styley (1985: Hillel Slovak)
  • Uplift Mofo Party Plan (1987: Hillel Slovak)
  • Mother´s Milk (1989: John Frusciante)
  • Blood Sugar Sex Magik (1991: John Frusciante)
  • One Hot Minute (1995: Dave Navarro)
  • Californication (1999: John Frusciante)
  • By the Way (2002: John Frusciante)
  • Stadium Arcadium (2006: John Frusciante)
  • I´m with You (2011: Josh Klinghoffer)
  • The Getaway (2016: Josh Klinghoffer)
  • Unlimited Love (2022: John Frusciante)

Red Hot Chili Peppers and their drummers

And here the task is way more simple, Red Hot Chili Peppers has had only three drummers and Chad Smith has kept the role steadily since 1989.

  • Cliff Martínez. two albums in 1984 and 1985: Red Hot Chili Peppers and Freaky Styley.
  • Jack irons. Only one record: Uplift Mofo Party Plan from 1987.
  • Chad Smith since 1989, eight albums: Mother´s Milk, Blood Sugar Sex Magik, One Hot Minute, Californication, By the Way, Stadium Arcadium, I´m with You, The Getaway.

Red Hot Chili Peppers story in short:

In summary, at the beginning it was difficult for Red Hot Chili Peppers to stabilize their line up: The band, formed in 1983 by Anthony Kiedis (voice), Flea (Bass), Hillel Slovak (guitar) and Jack Irons (drums) underwent two changes in its members before editing their self-titled debut album. Slovak was replaced by Jack Sherman and Irons by Cliff Martínez. For the second album, Freaky Styley (1985), Sherman was fired and Slovak rejoined. Only at the third LP, Uplift Mofo Party Plan (1987, produced by George Clinton), the originial Peppers incarnation would record together. And in fact it is the only album with the first line-up.

1988: Hillel Slovak dies becaouse of a drug overdose. Kiedis goes to rehab and Jack Irons, who is really affected by these events, leaves the band. By 1989 the Red Hot Chili Peppers incorporated Chad Smith on drums and John Frusciante on guitar. With producer Michael Beinhorn they change their sound and release the first album with which they attract significant attention: Mothers Milk.

1991: The success of their fifth album, Blood Sugar Sex Magik, gave the band their rise to stardom and made them a key band of the decade. Hits like Give it away, Under bridge or Breaking the girl are classics today.

In 1992 Frusciante left the band, and after a brief cameo by Arik Marshall on guitar, the Chili Peppers incorporated Dave Navarro around 1995. That year the band realeased their heaviest album, One Hot Minute, which disappointed fans and critics but still included great songs like My Friends, Aeroplane and Warped.

By 1998 the creative differences with Dave Navarro were unsustainable, so the former Jane’s Addiction guitarist left the band to allow the return of John Frusciante. In 1999 Red Hot Chili Peppers released their best-selling and most popular album to date: Californication, with the homonymous hit, Scar Tissue and Otherside as some of their most notable songs. The album was followed by the also popular By the Way in 2002.

The double album Stadium Arcadium came out in 2006, which was also well received by fans and critics. It marked the end of Frusciante’s second era with the band. By 2010 Red Hot Chili Peppers had incorporated his replacement, Josh Klinghoffer, as permanent guitarist, with whom they took the minor hits of I´ with you (2011) and The Getaway (2016).

Towards the end of 2019 Anthony Kiedis, Flea and Chad Smith ask John Frusciante to return to the band, which led to the departure of Klinghoffer from Red Hot Chili Peppers. In 2022, finally, Unlimited Love was released, by the most successful RHCP line up 🙂

More related content