Skip to content
Home » Timelines » The Smiths

The Smiths history: Morrissey vs Johnny Marr

This timeline infographic features the history of one of the most relevant bands of the last forty years: The Smiths. The band led by the controversial singer Morrissey and the guitarist Johnny Marr had a short but amazing career. Swipe to learn more below:

the smiths historya: morrissey vs johnny marr

the smiths historya: morrissey vs johnny marr

The Smiths Discography

Brief but intense, the career of the English quartet left the following records:

  • The Smiths (1984)
  • Hatful of Hollow (compilation, 1984)
  • Meat is Murder (1985)
  • The Queen is Dead (1986)
  • The World Won´t Listen (UK) / Louder than bombs (US) (Compilation, 1987)
  • Strangeways, here we come (1987)
  • Rank (Live, 1988)

Morrissey´s post The Smiths solo career

Morrissey as a solo artist has released a total of 14 studio albums + a compilation of originals. In detail:

  • Viva Hate (1988)
  • Bona Drag (1990)
  • Kill Uncle (1991)
  • Your Arsenal (1992)
  • Beethoven was deaf (live, 1993)
  • Vauxhall and I (1994)
  • Southpaw Grammar (1995)
  • Maladjusted (1997)
  • You are the Quarry (2004)
  • Ringleader of the Tormentors (2006)
  • Years of refusal (2009)
  • World Peace is none of your business (2014)
  • Low in high school (2017)
  • California Son (2019)
  • I am not a dog in a chain (2020)

Johnny Marr´s post The Smiths projects

In total, as an official member of various groups and solo Johnny Marr has released a total of 14 albums. The detail is as follows:

As a solo artist:

  • The Messenger (2013)
  • Playland (2014)
  • Call the Comet (2018)

He also released an album in the name of Johnny Marr and The Healers: Boomslang in 2003.

As part of The The:

  • Mind Bomb (1989)
  • Dusk (1992)

As part of the band Electronic, together with Bernard Sumner of New Order/Joy Division:

  • Electronic (1991)
  • Raise the Pressure (1996)
  • Twisted Tenderness (1999)

As guitarist of the band Modest Mouse:

  • We were dead before the ship even sank (2007)
  • No one´s first but you are next (2009)

Johnny Marr also recorded with the band The Cribs only one record: Ignore the Ignorant in 2009.

With the project 7 Worlds Collide, Johnny Marr released two albums: a self-titled in 2001 and The Sun Came Out in 2009.

More related content