David Bowie´s history and story: A time line infographic

Trying to explain David Bowie´s history is quite a complex task. His stage personas, his multiple characters with all their diverse styles, attitudes and stories is really hard. Here we have a time line that serves as a short visual version of Ziggy Stardust, Aladdin Sane, The Thin White Duke: this is the story of David Bowie part 1, 1964 until 1979.


Ver esta publicación en Instagram


Una publicación compartida de Toms Music Data Blog (@tommy.mdb) el


Click on the image below to find the complete part 1 of the David Bowie History Time Line:

David Bowie history infographic


David Bowie´s Story: a short version (part 1)

David Bowie started playing in diverse bands since the early sixties, but it was not until 1966 that he decided to change his artistic name and became a solo performer.His first record (1967´s selftitled David Bowie) did not have much impact, but two years after that he released Space Oddity his career started to take of. Having said that, after the release of the well received The Man Who Sold the World (1970) and Hunky Dory (1971) his big break came with the magestic The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars (1972).

After this landmark album he released the also critically and commercially successful Aladdin Sane in 1973 and Diamond Dogs in 1974. For Station to Station (1976) he developed some problems with drugs and to take care of that bad habit he settled in Berlin and took this good friend Iggy Pop with him. So here starts the famous Berlin Trilogy that many of us adore: Low, “Heroes” were released in 1977 and Lodger in 1979. In that era David Bowie also managed to produce Iggy Pop´s two first solo releases: The Idiot and Lust For Life, both from 1977.

And wait for the second timeline od David Bowie´s history.

David Bowie Discography, first era

  • David Bowie (1967, selftitled)
  • Space Oddity (1969)
  • The Man Who Sold the World (1970)
  • Hunky Dory (1971)
  • The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars (1972)
  • Aladdin Sane (1973)
  • Pin Ups (1973)
  • Diamond Dogs /1974)
  • Young Americans (1975)
  • Station to Station (1976)
  • Low (1977)
  • “Heroes” (1977)
  • Lodger (1979)

More content:

You can also find Nirvana´s History Time Line here.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *