Skip to content
Home » Timelines » Blur

The history of Blur, Gorillaz, Damon Albarn and Graham Coxon: A timeline

This timeline shows the history of Blur and Gorillaz, as well as the solo careers of Damon Albarn and Graham Coxon. Swipe below to learn all the chronological details of each of these BritPop-inspired projects.

Blur and Gorillaz timeline

Recently, Blur announced their new album, The Ballad of Darren (2023).

A summarized version of Blur’s history

Blur was formed in 1988 in London, England. Their line-up has been stable for the most part of their career, with only guitarist Graham Coxon leaving the band between 2002 and 2008. Blur’s constant members are Damon Albarn on vocals, Dave Rowntree on drums, and Alex James on bass.

Blur’s discography

Below we list all studio album releases by Blur, as well as two important events.

  • 1991: Leisure is released
  • 1993: Modern Life is Rubbish is released
  • 1994: Parklife is released
  • 1995: The Great Escape is released
  • Also, in 1995 the famous “Battle of Britpop” took place. Basically, it was Oasis’ Roll with it against Country House on the charts. Blur came out victorious.
  • 1997: Blur’s self-titled album is released
  • 1999: 13 is released
  • 2001: Graham Coxon left Blur
  • 2003: Think Tank is released
  • 2006: Graham Coxon rejoined Blur and the band started performing live again
  • 2015: The Magic Whip is released
  • 2023: Blur releases The Ballad of Darren

Gorillaz history in short

Gorillaz began in 2001 as an alternative project of the singer Damon Albarn. The band also includes illustrator and cartoonist Jamie Hewlett. More recently, producer and percussionist Remi Kabaka Jr. also joined the band. Gorillaz often uses session musicians to complement vocals, drums, bass, and other instruments.

Something that makes Gorillaz stand out is the project’s narrative is centered on a virtual band, consisting of four cartoon animated characters: 2-D (vocalist), Murdoc Niccals (bassist), Russel Hobbs (drummer) and Noodle (guitarist).

Throughout its existence, Gorillaz has released seven studio albums:

  • 2001: Gorillaz
  • 2005: Demon Days
  • 2010: Plastic Beach
  • 2011: The Fall
  • 2017: Humanz
  • 2018: The Now Now
  • 2020: Song Machine Season 1: Strange Timez

Song Machine Season 2 is expected to come out in 2021.

Graham Coxon’s solo discography

Graham Coxon left Blur during the recording of the album Think Tank. He returned to the band in 2015, when they recorded the album The Magic Whip.

Here is a list Graham Coxon’s solo discography:

  • 1998: The Sky Is Too High
  • 2000: The Golden D
  • 2001: Crow Sit on Blood Tree
  • 2002: The Kiss of Morning
  • 2004: Happiness in Magazines
  • 2006: Love Travels at Illegal Speeds
  • 2009: The Spinning Top
  • 2012: A+E

More Britpop-related content