Skip to content
Home » Reviews & News » Ænima (Tool)

Tool: Ænima’s holographic artwork shown in videos

Check out the original holographic artwork for Tool’s album Ænima. Released in 1996, it is regarded as one of the band’s finest efforts, as their later work became more and more complex.

Tool Aenima CD artwork holograms
  • Genre: Progressive rock, Alternative metal
  • Personel: Maynard James Keenan (vocals), Adam Jones (guitar), Justin Chancellor (bass), Danny Carey (drums)
  • Top tracks: Stinkfist, Ænima.
  • Release: 1996
  • Score: 9

Fallen from California in 1996, Tool released their very own interpretation of what alternative rock should be: a mixture between progressions, climax, textures, angry guitars, polyrhythms, and many other things that appear on Ænima.

Here you can enjoy some short video samples of the album’s artwork, which is really amazing. As we know, Tool always puts some real thinking on their album covers, booklets, and art in general. This one is really nice to have a copy of this CD:

Here is the Ænima‘s album cover with the first track playing, Stinkfist:

Too: Forty Six & 2:

And the title track Ænima:

Nice holograms, uh?

The first track Stinkfist (censored by MTv as Track #1) says: “I’ll keep digging / Til I feel something”. Ænima is flooded with anti-Hollywood spirit; it is a product that stands against the same industry that produced it. This is an idea that appears in the whole record: some anti-establishment take.

Great tracks such as the progressive Eulogy, the recited evolution scale in Forty-six & 2 and the brilliant title track Ænima are some of the album´s highlights. Tool narrates the decadence of nineties Californian culture. Many of the songs make reference to social decay, capitalism, boredom, and media as some of the worst experiences in human life.

Tool have been frequently cited as an influence by New Metal bands that emerged after this album, in the late nineties and the beginning of the 2000s. These “children” of Tool are not as much appreciated by the band themselves but well…

Tool Ænima  Tracklisting:

  1. Stinkfist
  2. Eulogy
  3. H.
  4. Useful Idiot
  5. Forty Six & 2
  6. Message to Harry Manback
  7. Hooker With a Penis
  8. Intermission
  9. Jimmy
  10. Die Eier von Satan
  11. Pushit
  12. Cesaro Summability
  13. Ænima
  14. (-) Ions
  15. Third Eye

Some weird Tool music videos to enjoy: Stinkfist + Ænima